Minimum Viable Content

I am not my user or rather target audience but I am my own client. That’s right. I am revamping my own portfolio website. Creating the written content is tedious enough but then there’s curating my content. All of my work to display nicely on any device a potential target audience member can get their hands on to access my website. You know the whole responsive bit which isn’t my immediate concern at the moment.
Unlike most of my projects, I personally don’t have to answer what do I want my target audience to know and what exactly do they want to know? Not just that but: what don’t I want to tell them? Who don’t I want to attract? Who do I want to attract?

User Stories for ogidesigns.net

Created user stories for the various types of users I anticipated interacting with my website

Figuring out what my MVP would contain couldn’t be determined without this information. For the first phase of my new responsive website it not only shows the least amount of information my target audience needs but everything that goes into building it.

I did a little over three phases of paper wireframes trying to figure out the best way to display my content of information on a mobile device.

I did a little over three phases of paper wireframes trying to figure out the best way to display my content of information on a mobile device.

My wireframes where drafted in mind that I needed to launch my site as soon as possible and that I didn’t have a lot of time in between client’s projects. My branding and style wouldn’t suffer however. I spent some significant time on the GUI. I would be coding this myself so I wasn’t too keen on creating a whole new look a feel. I wanted something clean and simple that I could build upon not completely scrap.

OGiD Phase One Mobile Responsive Interface

I would layout the GUI and then go back and create the content for that particular page(s).


I did as little as possible with my coding as well. I am currently learning SASS and JavaScript and I hope to use them on my own site down the line but I chose to design my content to play as well as it could with basic HTML5 and CSS3. Media queries where the only thing I could use at the moment confidently so swapping out and hiding content was out of question. Besides this forced me to be strategic about the type of content I showed. Designing things mobile first helps with this but being limited by my ability to code helped me remove the fluff. What someone can see via mobile they can also see via desktop.
Desktop and Mobile interface

Temporary Home Page | Desktop and Mobile Responsive Design

The limitations of someone using a mobile device dictated how everything appears even on desktop. Load times, length of content, size of content, even the visual nature. If it looks good small it should look good big right?

This first phase was about creating minimum viable content. I hope to focus on the actual interaction of my content in the next phase.

Your thoughts?

